Council: Queens

Queens by the Numbers:

  • Serving over 11,100 Youth.
  • Assisted by over 1,190 Adult volunteers.
  • Holding events at the Queens Zoo and Citi FIeld. 

 

QUEENS EVENTS

Mets Scout Days

April 18, August 30, October 4

 

Queens Day Camp @ St. John's University?

July 11 - 15, 2016

9 AM - 3 PM

Cost is only $295 per participant!

Maximum Cap is 50 Scouts

 

Our Queens Team

 

Queens Council President: Mr. Michael Sibilia, Chief Financial Officer, JFK International Officer

 

Founders District Chair: Dit Cheung, queens255@hotmail.com

Founders District Commissioner: Deborah Caviness, dcaviness263@aol.com

Founders District Executive: Robert Colonna, Robert.Colonna@scouting.org

 

Pathfinder District Chair: Amy Shapiro, amy_s_shapiro@uhc.com

Pathfinder District Commissioner: Henry Zalak, HZalak@aol.com

Pathfinder District Executive: Torey McCleskey, Torey.McCleskey@scouting.org

 

Tomahawk District Chair: Jon-Paul Rasinya, broadchannelscouts@yahoo.com

Tomahawk District Commissioner: Vacant

Tomahawk District Executive: Torey McCleskey, Torey.McCleskey@scouting.org

 

Field Director: Joseph Schiltz , Joseph.Schiltz@scouting.org

Wood Badge Coordinator: Greg Hofer, gghofer@hotmail.com

I am proud to announce that on January 1st, Joseph Schiltz was promoted to the Greater New York Councils Assistant Director of Field Service.  
Joe began his affiliation with scouting in Pack and Troop 55 in Arcade, NY where he became an Eagle Scout in 1998. Joe first joined the Greater New York Councils in 2001 as a volunteer Scoutmaster for Troop 23 in the Bronx. He was hired in 2004 as a District Executive in Pathfinder District, Queens, promoted to Staten Island Field Director in 2008, then assumed the role of Field Director of Queens and Staten Island in 2010.  

As a Field Director, Joe has doubled the Queens and SI finance campaigns from 222K to 486K, increased SI membership by 12%, restarted the Heritage Societies, recruited 22 new board members, recruited four Borough Council Presidents and worked tirelessly in his role as GNYC spokesman during the Camp Pouch environmental easement. 
In his new role as Assistant Director of Field Service, Joe will be managing the day to day operations of the Queens Council while taking on additional GNYC responsibilities. He will advise the Brooklyn Diocese CCOS, assist in overall Field Finance, support the GNYC Key 2 program meetings and work with the District Directors on District Nominating Committees. 
 

Congratulations Joe!

Christopher M. Coscia

Deputy Scout Executive

Michael Sibilia

Executive Queens Council President

Joseph Schiltz

Field Service - Queens - Field Director

(212) 651-2827

Torey McCleskey

Field Service- Pathfinder- District Executive

(212) 651-2820